Denis Rank elected President of the Academy of Technology, Yves Bamberger – Vice President

Denis Rank is elected president of the Academy of Technology. Fellow since 2014, former CEO of Thales and Chairman of the Board of Directors of Airbus, he succeeds Pascal Viginier, who has held the post since 2019. Yves Bamberger, founding member of the Academy of Technology, was elected Vice President. presidency.

A graduate of the École Polytechnique and the École nationale des mines de paris, Denis Rank began his career at the Ministry of Industry before joining the Thomson SA group in 1983. Thomson-CSF Divisions: Thomson Tubes Electroniques in 1989, Thomson Sintra Underwater Activity in 1992, Thomson Marconi Sonar in 1996. In 1998 he became Chairman and CEO of Thomson CSF, which he renamed Thales in 2000 2009 At the time, he was a member of the board of directors of several technology companies and chairman of the board of directors of Technicolor. In 2013, he became Chairman of the Board of Directors of Airbus Group (formerly EADS), a position he held until 2020.

Denis Rank is currently a board member of Saint-Gobain and CMA CGM.

Actively involved in civil society, Denis Rank chaired the National Association for Research and Technology (ANRT) from 2010 to 2012, the Mines ParisTech Board of Directors from 2001 to 2012, and the ParisTech Foundation. Since 2014, he has been President of the Ecole Polytechnique Foundation and a member of the School’s Board of Directors.

From 2002 to 2012 he was President of the Cercle de l’industrie which became France Industrie.

He also served as Chairman of the Supreme Corporate Governance Committee from 2013 to 2019.

Denis Rank is an officer of the Legion of Honor, a member of the National Order of Merit, a member of the Order of the British Empire and a member of the German Order of Merit.

In 2014, he was elected to the Academy of Technology.

The day after his election, Denis Rank recalls that: The motto of the Academy of Technology: “For reasonable, select and common progress” is especially relevant when making important decisions for the world of tomorrow. In our complex and interdependent world, in which some have begun to question the contribution of technology to human progress, the collegiate experience of our Academy can enlighten citizens and decision makers. I am honored to be elected President and to be able to contribute, along with all of our members, to making him a trusted third party in technology matters.”

Yves Bamberger, founding member of the Academy of Technology, was elected Vice President. Engineer for Ponts et Chaussées, he started his career in research and teaching before joining EDF where he became director of research and development in 2002. In this role, and then as Advisor to the Chairman, he actively promotes work on carbon-free electricity and its use, smart grids, electricity mix and digitalization in EDF.

Yves Bamberger was, among others, Chairman of CIGREF, a member of the Gartner Research Group (New York) and the Board of the Electric Power Research Institute (Palo Alto). He currently chairs the Energy Committee of CAETS, an international association of technology and engineering academies. He has authored or co-authored several books, including 2021’s Electricity at the Heart of Our Low-Carbon Future.

Yves Bamberger is an officer of the Legion of Honor and an officer of the Academic Palms.